Invitation to Serve

During my Peace Corps interview, I had been told that I would most likely know if I was accepted by mid-January to mid-February. By the time February rolled around, I was starting to consider other options. It’s not that I had given up on my chances of being accepted, but just that I’m graduating in May and need to be thinking about my future. I applied for various local jobs and AmeriCorps positions and was starting to get interview requests by the second week of February. I was still holding on to my Peace Corps dream, but as each day passed, I looked for more backup plans.

On Monday, February 13th, I finally received an email from my Peace Corps Placement Officer.

Dear Erica,

Congratulations! You have been selected to serve as a Peace Corps Volunteer, pending medical and legal clearance. This letter is your formal invitation to serve as a Secondary Education English Teacher in Mozambique departing August 28, 2017. By accepting this invitation, you are taking the next step toward joining hundreds of thousands of Americans who have answered the call to service and made sustainable change in communities around the world.

Here’s what you need to do within 3 calendar days:

  • Review all assigned materials. Please follow the links to review your assignment description, Mozambique Welcome Book, Peace Corps Volunteer Handbook, Core Expectations for Peace Corps Volunteers, and Safety and Security Information.
  • Respond to your invitation. To accept this invitation and begin the clearance process, complete and submit the PCV Invitation Decision Form.

1280px-flag_of_mozambique-svg

Boom. All of a sudden I had accepted my decision to serve and had a HUGE stack of paperwork to fill out. The past few days have been a whirlwind. I’ve schedule a physical and left a message at my dentist’s office. I’ve made an appointment to get fingerprinted at my local police station. I’ve received congratulations from friends and family–and quite a few bittersweet felicitations as well. I’ve completed my Visa and Passport applications and need to mail those in. The number of medical tests and forms I need to fill out is a little overwhelming. But I’m beyond ecstatic. It almost doesn’t feel real yet. I’ve started studying Portuguese (the official language of Mozambique) and have been researching the beautifully diverse country that I will call my home for 27 months.

I never would have imagined that  I would have such an incredible opportunity this quickly. By the time I get back, it’ll be December of 2019. I leave in just over 6 months! The number of things I need to get done is staggering, but I feel like I’m on top of it. I’m excited to see the ways my life will change, and how I’ll grow as a person over the next few years! I seriously can’t wait until my departure date!!

mozambique_pol95

Map of Mozambique (it’s on the mainland of Africa, right across from Madagascar).

 

 

One thought on “Invitation to Serve

Leave a Reply

